Schafer announces Soybean Board appointments

Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer appointed 19 members and two alternates to the United Soybean Board. All appointees will serve three-year terms beginning December 2008.

Appointed members representing Mid-South states are: James D. Wilson, Alabama; H. Todd Allen, Arkansas; James D. Sneed, Mississippi; Jason S. Bean, Missouri; and Gerald G. Caldwell, Tennessee.

Michael A. Dee, Alabama was appointed as an alternate member.

The 68-member United Soybean Board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act. The secretary of agriculture selected the appointees from soybean producers nominated by qualified state soybean boards.

The mandatory program is funded at the rate of 0.5 percent of the net market price of the soybeans purchased. The board’s goal is to strengthen the position of soybeans in the marketplace and to maintain and expand domestic and foreign markets and uses for soybeans and soybean products.

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.