Steve Brown named Fellow of the Society for APRES

APRES names award winners at annual conference

Dr. Steve Brown was named Fellow of the Society for the American Peanut Research and Education Society (APRES) during an awards ceremony at the society’s annual Meeting July 13 in Albuquerque, NM.

Dr. Marshall Lamb, USDA-ARS-National Peanut Research Laboratory, received the Dow AgroSciences award for research. Austin Hagan, Auburn University, received the Coyt T. Wilson Distinguished Service Award.

Also, Jianping Wang received the Baily Award for the best APRES Paper from 2016 Annual Meeting.

Six graduate students received awards in the Joe Sugg Graduate Student Competition. Those include: Section 1, sponsored by North Carolina Peanut Growers Association—Jake Fountain, University of Georgia, winner; Carolina Chavarro, University of Georgia, second place. Section 2, sponsored by JLA, Inc.—Wen Carter, University of Georgia, winner’ and Stephen Leininger, Mississippi State University, second place. Section 3, sponsored by Dow AgroSciences—Lindsey Christman, North Carolina State University, winner; Brian Jordan, University of Georgia, second place.           

TAGS: Technology
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.