Naquin named to 2008 National 4-H Hall of Fame

C.J. Naquin of Baton Rouge, La., a retired Louisiana 4-H state program leader, was one of 17 people named to the 2008 National 4-H Hall of Fame.

“This is the highest honor that can bestowed upon someone in 4-H,” said Paul Coreil, vice chancellor for the LSU AgCenter and director of the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service. “He dedicated his career to 4-H and was one of our most innovative leaders.”

Naquin is one of only five people from Louisiana named to the National 4-H Hall of Fame, which was established in 2002, the 100th anniversary of 4-H nationwide. The others from Louisiana already honored are Jack Bagent of Baton Rouge in 2002, Victor Roy (deceased) in 2004, Stella Jones (deceased) in 2005 and Joan McCrory of Baton Rouge in 2007.

Over his 37-year career in 4-H, Naquin served as a parish agent, regional programmer, state specialist and state program leader. He was the first director of the Louisiana 4-H Foundation.

Among his innovations were exchange programs for Japanese youth to come to Louisiana and Louisiana youth to travel to France. He helped establish advisory committees in every parish as well as Junior Leader Clubs. He also organized a 4-H camp at Camp Grant Walker, La., for disabled youth.

“His leadership allowed the LSU AgCenter to expand and enhance 4-H Camp. Additionally, his commitment to the 4-H Foundation allowed for the establishment of what is now a $2 million endowment of private funds donated in support of youth education,” Coreil said. “There is no doubt his transformational leadership resulted in the foundation for the outstanding statewide 4-H youth development program in place today.”

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.