Louisianans reappointed to National Peanut Board

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns has reappointed three members and two alternate members, and appointed one alternate member to serve on the National Peanut Board.

The following members and alternates were reappointed to serve three-year terms of office beginning Jan. 1, 2007, and ending on Dec. 31, 2009: Members — Wayne E. (Wes) Shannon of Tifton, Ga.; Roger G. Neitsch of Seminole, Texas; and John Shackleford of Mer Rouge, La.; Alternates — John C. Harrell of Whigham, Ga., and Francis V. Jordan III of Rayville, La.

Tracy Welch of Plains, Texas, is a newly appointed alternate member who will serve a three-year term of office beginning Jan. 1, 2007, and ending on Dec. 31, 2009.

The 10-member board is composed of eligible peanut producers. The nominees were appointed from nominations submitted by certified peanut producer organizations.

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight of the National Peanut Board in accordance with the act and order. Under the order, domestic producers pay an assessment at the rate of 1 percent of the total value of all farmers’ stock peanuts sold.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.