Sunbelt dim in Senate Ag Committee

Of the 21 members of the Senate Agriculture Committee, only three hail from Sunbelt states (California and Texas, mega-farms of the nation are not represented).

Sens. Saxby Chambliss of Georgia and Thad Cochran of Mississippi return. Sen. John Boozman, who unseated Sen. Blanche Lincoln in Arkansas, is a new member to the committee.

How will the new makeup impact Sunbelt agriculture in writing the next farm bill?

Members appointed to the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry include:

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Tom Harkin (D-IA)

Kent Conrad (D-ND)

Max Baucus (D-MT)

Ben Nelson (D-NE)

Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Robert Casey (D-PA)

Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Michael Bennet (D-CO)

Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Pat Roberts (R-KS)

Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)

Richard Lugar (R-IN)

Thad Cochran (R-MS)

Mitch McConnell (R-KY)

Mike Johanns (R-NE)

John Boozman (R-AK)

Chuck Grassley (R-IA)

John Thune (R-SD)

John Hoeven (R-ND)

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.