FB elects leaders at meeting

A host of grassroots leaders were elected at the 89th American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) annual meeting, held recently in New Orleans, La.

For a fifth time, Bob Stallman, Columbus, Texas, was elected president. Stallman, a cattle and rice producer, will serve the standard two-year term.

Complementing Stallman's selection, Barry Bushue was elected AFBF vice president. Bushue, from Boring, Ore., is a nursery and berry producer. He replaces Steve Appel, Dusty, Wash., the former AFBF vice president. Appel, a wheat and barley producer, has retired.

The AFBF board of directors maintained a number of incumbent positions, as 14 state Farm Bureau presidents were re-elected to continue representing their regions. Elected from the Southern region were Marshall Coyle, Kentucky; John Hoblick, Florida; Jerry Newby, Alabama; Wayne Pryor, Virginia; Stanley Reed, Arkansas; David Waide, Mississippi; and David Winkles, South Carolina.

The 2009 AFBF annual meeting is scheduled for Jan. 11-14, in San Antonio, Texas.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.