Directors chosen for sorghum checkoff program

Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer has appointed a board of directors for the national Sorghum Promotion, Research and Information Program, or national sorghum checkoff.

The checkoff board consists of 13 producer members. Term lengths in years are in parentheses. Representing Kansas are Jeff Casten of Quenemo (2); Bill Greving of Prairie View (4); Gary Kilgore of Chanute (3); Earl Roemer of Healy (2); and Greg Shelor of Minneola (4). Representing Texas are Bill Kubecka of Palacios (4); Dale Artho of Wildorado (2), and Billy Bob Brown of Panhandle (3). Representing Nebraska is James Vorderstrasse of Hebron (3). At-large seats are filled by Troy Skarke of Claude, Texas (2); Louise Rigdon of Blackwell, Oklahoma (3); Stewart Weaver of Edmonson, Arkansas (3); and Jerry Van Zee of Platte, South Dakota (4).

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.