Oosterhuis receives Nelson award

Derrick Oosterhuis,  University of Arkansas professor, was recently presented with Nelson award by the Fluid Fertilizer Foundation . Nelson award by the Fluid Fertilizer Foundation  professor, proprofe

Derrick Oosterhuis, a distinguished professor in the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture and the Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences at the University of Arkansas, was recently presented the Werner L. Nelson award by the Fluid Fertilizer Foundation at its annual meeting in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Oosterhuis, who holds the Clyde H. Sites Professorship in International Crop Physiology, teaches in the crop, soil and environmental sciences department. His research is on cotton and other major row crops, focusing on the effects and management of plant stress, including high temperature and drought, nutrition, and photosynthesis, and carbon partitioning in growth and yield development.

The Werner L. Nelson award recognizes outstanding contributions in the development of soil fertility practices and plant nutrition management to increase crop yields for the benefit of the North American farmer and consumer.

“Healthy plants are essential for efficient crop production, and to achieve maximum yields and productivity,” said Oosterhuis. “Understanding plant nutritional requirements allow us to formulate efficient fertility programs, and ensure maximum productivity and economic benefits.”

Oosterhuis is chairman of the Arkansas Cotton Research Group and has received the Arkansas Alumni Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching and Research. He has also received awards for National Outstanding Cotton Physiologist, Arkansas Cotton Achievement, the John White Outstanding Research Team, John White Outstanding Researcher and Gamma Sigma Delta Outstanding Researcher.

Oosterhuis, who received his bachelor’s degree from Natal University in South Africa, his master’s degree from the University of Reading in the United Kingdom and his doctorate from Utah State University, is a fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and the Crop Science Society of America.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.