Coley re-elected Cotton Producers chairman

C.B. “Chuck” Coley, a producer/ginner from Vienna, Ga., was re-elected chairman of the American Cotton Producers of the National Cotton Council for 2009 during the NCC annual meeting in Washington, D.C. Coley has served on ACP committees and on NCC committees and task forces.

Among his current NCC service are memberships on NCC’s Payment Eligibility Actively Engaged Working Group, Vision 21 Cotton Flow Study Committee and Doha Strategy Task Force.

Re-elected as vice chairmen were Rick Bransford, Lonoke, Ark.; and Clyde T. Sharp, Roll, Ariz. Elected as a vice president was Michael Alexander, Colorado City, Texas.

Also re-elected as NCC producer directors were: Chuck Lee, Pembroke, Ga., from the Southeast region; Don Cameron, Helm, Calif., from the Western region; and Coley as the at-large director.

Elected as NCC producer/directors for the Mid-South and Southwest regions, respectively, were: John W. Willis, Brownsville, Tenn., and James F. Dodson, Robstown, Texas.

Serving as ACP state producer chairmen in 2009: Alabama — Neal Isbell, Muscle Shoals, and Walter L. Corcoran Jr., Eufaula; Arizona — Paco Ollerton, Casa Grande, and Greg Wuertz, Casa Grande; Arkansas — Joe Burns, Rector; California — Ted Sheely, Lemoore, and Mark McKean, Riverdale; Florida — B. E. “Sonny” Davis Jr., Cottondale; Georgia — James L. Webb, Leary, and Ronald C. Lee, Bronwood; Kansas — Robert H. Miller, Wellington; Louisiana — Stephen E. Logan, Gilliam, and Thomas A. Parker, Lake Providence; Mississippi — Dan Branton, Leland; Missouri/Illinois — Steve Droke, Hornersville, Mo.; New Mexico — Martin K. Sweetser, Deming; North Carolina — Taylor Slade, Williamson, and Ronald Burleson, Richfield; Oklahoma — Danny Robbins V, Altus, and Joe D. White, Frederick; South Carolina — Roy Baxley, Dillon, and Frank B. Rogers III, Bennettsville; Tennessee/Kentucky — Jeffrey W. Hill, Gates, Tenn., and Jimmy Moody, Dyersburg, Tenn.; Texas — Craig Heinrich, Lubbock, Doyle K. Schniers, San Angelo, Shawn L. Holladay, Lamesa, and Jon R. Whatley, Odem; and Virginia — J.W. Jones, Windsor.

The NCC’s American Cotton Producers is an organization of 37 cotton producer leaders elected by their peers from across the Cotton Belt. Membership is uniformly distributed among the major cotton-producing states. The ACP is the producers’ advocate within the NCC and has responsibility for developing recommendations on all matters affecting the cotton production sector.

TAGS: Cotton
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.