Cotton Board names officers for 2009

Cotton Board members unanimously re-elected to serve one-year terms for the 2009 year are: Bob McGinnis, chairman, producer from West Memphis, Ark.; Larkin Martin, vice chairman, producer from Courtland, Ala.; Craig Shook, secretary, producer from Corpus Christi, Texas; Kevin Rogers, treasurer, producer from Mesa, Ariz.; and John Clark, assistant treasurer, importer from Los Angeles, Calif.

Their roles as leaders of Cotton Board will be to help guide the organization to effectively administer and oversee the Cotton Research and Promotion Program as funded by U.S. producers and importers of cotton and cotton products.

The Cotton Board is comprised of 76 members and alternates (46 producers; 30 importers) and one consumer advisor.

The Cotton Research and Promotion Act established the Cotton Board as a quasi-governmental, non-profit entity to serve as the administrator of the Cotton Research and Promotion Program. Funded by America’s cotton producers and importers through the cotton checkoff, the program’s research and promotion activities are conducted worldwide by Cotton Incorporated, the Cotton Board’s sole-source contracting organization, to increase the demand for and improve the market position of cotton.

The Cotton Research and Promotion Program continues to work in all areas of cotton’s pipeline — from the field to the consumer — to keep cotton the number one fiber choice in the U.S. For more information about the Cotton Board and the innovative activities stemming from the program, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.