Arkansas rice experts receive national honors

THREE UNIVERSITY of Arkansas rice experts were honored at a recent annual meeting of the national Rice Technical Working Group in New Orleans.

Rick Cartwright, plant pathologist with the Cooperative Extension Service, received the Distinguished Rice Research and Education Award for his applied research program and nationally-known efforts in rice pathology education on behalf of the rice industry.

Eight Distinguished Service Awards were presented, including one to Fleet Lee, a rice disease researcher at the University of Arkansas Rice Research and Extension Center at Stuttgart, Ark., for his contributions and service to the U.S. rice industry.

The Distinguished Rice Research and Education Team Award was given to Lee, Karen Moldenhauer, a geneticist at the rice center, and Tony Marchetti, a USDA researcher in Texas, for their work on blast resistance in U.S. rice cultivars.

Rick Norman, UA professor of soil fertility at the Agricultural Experiment Station, was chairman for the meeting and presented awards.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.