ACPA awards recognize top service

The American Crop Protection Association has honored Ed Duskin with its Grassroots Award for his nearly 30 years of outstanding leadership in agriculture.

Duskin is executive vice president of the Dawson, Ga.-based Southern Crop Production Association, which represents the crop protection industry in 15 Southeast, Delta, and Southwest states.

The award, given in honor of former ACPA chairman Richard Urbanowski, is conferred annually on the individual who has best encouraged and supported grassroots efforts related to crop protection, pest control, and biotechnology that benefit agriculture and public health.

Duskin was presented the award at the ACPA annual meeting at White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.

“Ed has been a national voice for Southern agribusiness,” said Jay Vroom, ACPA president.

He was cited for initiating the industry's Ambassadors Program, which trains and targets volunteer professionals to reach out to the general public to promote a better understanding of the need for, and safe use of, crop production materials and related products. The program is now in its 25th year.

Duskin has served on a number of industry committees, including ACPA's Legislative Affairs Oversight Council since its inception 12 years ago.

“He is a tireless advocate for agribusiness on Capitol Hill,” Vroom said, “and in SCPA's member states, he successfully coordinates membership and allies on key legislative and stewardship issues.”

A retired career Army officer, Duskin earned the Army's highest meritorious service award and served twice as a member of the Army general staff at the Pentagon.

Other awards presented during the ACPA annual meeting included Jean Reimers, head of government affairs, Aventis Crop Science NA, Washington, D.C.; Vince Alventos, senior vice president and general counsel, Syngenta Crop Protection, Greensboro, N.C.; and Charlie Keefer, director of regulatory affairs, BASF Corporation, Research Triangle Park, N.C.

They were presented the ACPA Workhorse Award for outstanding commitment and service to the crop life sciences industry.

Richard Feulner, director of regulatory affairs for Syngenta Crop Protection, Greensboro, N.C., was presented the ACPA Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication and service to the industry.

ACPA chairman Charles Fisher said Feulner “has been a tireless contributor on behalf of our regulatory efforts with the Environmental Protection Agency.” He has chaired the association's pesticide registration committee and drinking water exposure work group, and has headed the environmental risk analysis oversight work group in dialogue with environmental and aquatic concerns.

Cindy Baker, director of regulatory and government affairs and California general manager for Gowan Co., Yuma, Ariz., was presented the ACPA's top honor, the Lea S. Hitchner Service Award.

The award is presented annually to the person demonstrating extraordinary involvement, leadership, and contributions to the crop life science industry and its association.

Baker was cited as “a driving force, interpreter, and oft times outspoken proponent of industry's needs and views, and a respected source of regulatory information for the grower community, logging many miles annually to keep grower groups apprised of developments related to the Food Quality Protection Act.”

She has been a member of numerous EPA advisory groups, including the Tolerance Reassessment Advisory Committee and the Committee to Advise on Reassessment and Transition, and she has co-chaired the industry's Food Quality Protection Act Interdisciplinary Working Group.

e-mail: [email protected].

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.